Queensland’s Callum Miller Readies to Ride for Missouri Thunder After their First Game Win Against the Arizona Ridge Riders

By: Rachel Tighe  Saturday, June 18, 2022 @ 11:35 AM

The preseason for the 2022 PBR Team Series got underway June 17 in Bismarck, North Dakota. Photo: Andy Watson/Bull Stock Media.

BISMARCK, N.D. – History was made last night in Bismarck, North Dakota, when bull riders joined teams to compete in five-on-five bull riding games in four preseason matchups in the PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Team Series – a new league of eight bull riding teams from across the country competing for a national championship.

The preseason for the inaugural PBR Team Series season got underway at Bismarck Event Center, with high-scoring rides in each game yesterday evening. Among the eight teams competing, while no rosters activated their Australian riders for the first game, Queensland sensation Callum Miller (Warwick, Queensland) will join the Missouri Thunder Saturday evening for their game against the Carolina Cowboys.  

The league’s two preseason exhibition events in June do not affect the PBR Team Series championship race and standings – a 10-event regular season that begins July 25 with neutral site games in Cheyenne, Wyoming, and culminates in the championship tournament in November. Night two of Dakota Community Bank & Trust PBR Bull Riding Challenge continues Saturday at 8:30 p.m. ET, available to fans LIVE on Pluto TV (channel 720).



Clayton Sellars Propels Missouri Thunder to Victory Over the Arizona Ridge Riders in Game 4 of the PBR Team Series Preseason Event in Bismarck, North Dakota

Missouri Thunder: 261 points
Arizona Ridge Riders: 83.75 points                  

The opening day of competition for the Dakota Community Bank & Trust PBR Bull Riding Challenge Team series preseason event ended with a powerful performance from the Missouri Thunder in crushing the Arizona Ridge Riders, 261-83.75. The Thunder began Game 4 with a near-perfect 89-point ride by Clayton Sellars (Fruitland Park, Florida) aboard Melanie’s Dream (Diamond Willow/Clay Struve/Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger), and the team never looked back. Arizona Ridge Riders’ Chase Dougherty (Decatur, Texas) was able to notch an 83.75-point ride aboard familiar foe Yadi (Denis & Jan Owens/Joe Cefalu/Chad Berger), but the Thunder recorded two more qualified rides and ran away with the game. Leandro Machado (Esperança, Brazil) went for 85.5 points on Black Snake (Clay Struve/Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger) and Colten Fritzlan (Rifle, Colorado) scored 86.5 points against bovine opponent Stretch (Heald Pro Bulls/Clay Struve/Dakota Rodeo/Chad Berger,) propelling the Thunder to a high scoring 261-83.75 victory. On the second day of competition, the Missouri Thunder will make roster changes, including activating Australian Callum Miller (Warwick, Queensland) as they look to log their second game win against the Carolina Cowboys (1-0).


WEEKEND TEAM STANDINGS: Here are the current Team standings for the weekend after Day 1 of Dakota Community Bank & Trust PBR Bull Riding Team Series preseason event:  

  1. Missouri Thunder, 1-0-0-261 points
  2. Oklahoma Freedom, 1-0-0-260 points
  3. Carolina Cowboys, 1-0-0-256 points
  4. Kansas City Outlaws, 1-0-0-177 points
  5. Texas Rattlers, 0-1-0-173.50 points
  6. Austin Gamblers, 0-1-0-172 points
  7. Arizona Ridge Riders, 0-1-0-83.75 points
  8. Nashville Stampede, 0-1-0-0.00 points


DAY 2 MATCH-UPS: Here are the game matchups for Day 2 of the Dakota Community Bank & Trust PBR Bull Riding Team Series preseason event on Saturday, June 18:

Arizona Ridge Riders (0-1) vs. Ariat Texas Rattlers (0-1)
Carolina Cowboys  (1-0) vs. Missouri Thunder (1-0)
Kansas City Outlaws (1-0) vs. Oklahoma Freedom (1-0)
Austin Gamblers (0-1) vs. Nashville Stampede (0-1)


DAY 2 STARTING LINE-UPS: Here are the starting lineups for the games on Saturday, June 18. (Note: Each rider and bull’s name are hyperlinked to their PBR.com bio page with additional competition stats and history.)

Missouri Thunder:

Oklahama Freedom:

Carolina Cowboys:

Kansas City Outlaws:

Ariat Texas Rattlers:

Austin Gamblers:

Arizona Ridge Riders:

Nashville Stampede: