1998 PBR World Champion Troy Dunn Names Cliff and Lachlan Richardson and Ky Hamilton to Team Australia for 2020 PBR Global Cup USA

By: Kacie Albert  Friday, November 8, 2019 @ 12:20 PM


  • Three riders named to each of the six competing teams – Team USA Eagles and Wolves, Australia, Brazil, Canada and Mexico
  • 1998 PBR World Champion Troy Dunn Names Cliff and Lachlan Richardson and Ky Hamilton to Team Australia for 2020 PBR Global Cup USA


ARLINGTON, Texas – Ahead of the 2020 WinStar World Casino and Resort PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy, the coaches tasked with leading the six teams from the five competing nations have announced the first three riders set to comprise their seven-man teams for the event akin to the “Olympics of bull riding.”

The fourth edition of the PBR Global Cup, the only nation vs. nation bull riding competition, will make its second stop at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on February 15-16, 2020. The new team tournament debuted in Edmonton, Alberta, in November 2017, visited Sydney, Australia, in June 2018, and most recently stopped in Arlington this past February.

For the first time in league history, the coaches and assistant coaches have more power than ever, given full autonomy over the six athletes, and one alternate, set to don their nation’s colors and go head-to-head against the rankest bucking bulls on the planet.

Leading Team Australia for the third-consecutive PBR Global Cup, 1998 World Champion Troy Dunn (Bloomsbury, Queensland, Australia), joined by first-time assistant coach Brendon Clark (Morpeth, New South Wales, Australia), selected Cliff Richardson (Gresford, New South Wales, Australia), Lachlan Richardson (Gresford, New South Wales, Australia), and Ky Hamilton (Mackay, Queensland, Australia) as the initial riders set to represent the “Land Down Under.”

The additional roster selections are:

  • Team USA Eagles: Cooper Davis (Buna, Texas), Jess Lockwood (Volborg, Montana) and Chase Outlaw (Hamburg, Arkansas)
  • Team USA Wolves: Ryan Dirteater (Cherokee – Hulbert, Oklahoma), Stetson Lawrence (Chippewa and Sioux – Williston, North Dakota) and Keyshawn Whitehorse (Navajo – McCracken Springs, Utah).
  • Team Brazil: Jose Vitor Leme (Ribas do Rio Pardo, Brazil), Kaique Pacheco (Itatiba, Brazil), and Luciano De Castro (Guzolandia, Brazil)
  • Team Canada: Jordan Hansen (Okotoks, Alberta, Canada), Jared Parsonage (Maple Creek, Saskatchewan, Canada) and Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada)
  • Team Mexico: Edgar Durazo (Moctezma, Mexico), Alvaro Aguilar Alvarez (La Punta, Mexico) and Francisco Garcia Torres (Sal, Mexico)

The Richardson brothers will return for the fourth edition of the event to anchor Australia’s contingent, while 19-year-old young gun Hamilton will return to the nation’s roster for the first time since adding a score to their heart-breaking, 0.75-point, runner-up finish on home soil in June 2018.

Riding nearly exclusively in Australia in 2019, Cliff and Lachlan concluded the regular-season ranked No. 3 and No. 4, respectively, in the Australian national standings, within a mere 50 points of one another. Both are on the hunt for their first PBR Australia Championship.

For Cliff, the 2019 season was a banner year, winning two Australian events, along with 13 additional Top-10 finishes, en route to qualifying for the first PBR World Finals of his career. 

At the most recent edition of the PBR Global Cup, Team Australia finished fourth, led by Lachlan who added two scores to the nation’s total.

The Australian team will be one of four visiting teams looking to out-ride Team USA Eagles and Wolves on their home soil.

Two-time PBR World Champion Justin McBride (Whitesboro, Texas), set to become the lone coach to pilot a nation at all four editions of the PBR Global Cup, alongside two-time Team USA Eagles Assistant Coach J.W. Hart (Overbook, Oklahoma), selected a contingent led by Global Cup phenom, and 2016 PBR World Champion, Davis.

Regarded as “Captain America,” Davis will compete for the Red, White and Blue for the fourth consecutive edition of the event, after establishing himself as one of the nation’s most crucial team members across the past three PBR Global Cups.

After going 2-for-3 in Edmonton, and 3-for-4 in Sydney, both resulting in third-place finishes in the individual aggregate, the Texan compiled the top performance of any athlete at the PBR Global Cup’s debut in the United States when he went 3-for-4 to top the individual leaderboard en route to Team USA Eagles’ runner-up finish.

Led by first-time Global Cup coach, and PBR co-founder, Ted Nuce (Stephenville, Texas) and returning Assistant Coach, INFR (Indian National Finals Rodeo) President Mike “Bo” Vocu (Oglala Lakota – Kyle, South Dakota), the historic all Native American Team USA Wolves squad will be headlined by Dirteater, their top performer from the 2019 edition of the event. 

In his Global Cup debut in Feb. 2019, Dirteater went a flawless 3-for-3 to spearhead a come-from-behind push by the Wolves. His perfect outing left him second in the individual aggregate, finishing a slim 4.8 points behind the top-marked Davis.

Under the leadership of 2008 PBR World Champion Guilherme Marchi (Tres Lagoas, Brazil) and three-time PBR World Finals event winner Robson Palermo (Rio Branco Acre, Brazil), Team Brazil will be on the hunt for their unprecedented third consecutive PBR Global Cup event win, after taking the title at the two most recent stops in Australia and the United States.

In addition to making team history in Arlington in February 2019, Team Brazil standout Leme etched his name in the individual record books as the first rider to record a 90-point score at a PBR Global Cup. He covered Frequent Flyer for 90 points during the opening night’s bonus round.

Reigning PBR World Champion Pacheco earned his fourth consecutive selection to Team Brazil, while Castro will be competing for the second time after going a perfect 3-for-3 in Sydney.

Team Canada and Mexico will all look to their initial picks to improve upon their efforts in 2019 as each nation seeks its first Global Cup Championship.

Featuring all new leadership via Scott Schiffner (Strathmore, Alberta, Canada) and Tanner Girletz (Cereal, Alberta, Canada), Canada will look to Hansen, Parsonage and Buttar to avenge a dismal last-place result from Arlington after the Maple Leafs nearly captured the Global Cup Championship in Sydney. Hansen led Team Canada in Texas recording two of the nation’s three 8-second efforts.

Rounding out the competing teams is an ever-improving Team Mexico, set to be coached by Gerardo Venegas (Juarez, Mexico) and Jerome Davis (Archdale, North Carolina), that recorded its best finish to date at a Global Cup in Feb. 2019, finishing fifth out of the six teams. Veteran Durazo earned his fourth selection to the team, while Alvarez and Torres will both be making their third appearance at the international spectacle.

Tickets for the 2020 WinStar World Casino and Resort PBR Global Cup USA, presented by Monster Energy are on sale now and start at just $10. They can be purchased at the AT&T Stadium Box Office, online at ATTStadium.com or SeatGeek.com, or via the phone at (800) 732-1727.

For more information on the event, including premium experience and elite seats offerings, visit PBR.com/GlobalCup.